System Leadership

System leaders work within their own, and with other schools and partnerships, in developing a school led self-improvement system. In Suffolk, The School to School Support Partnership will, in the first instance, encourage the growth of a diverse range of system leaders to share best practice and improve outcomes.

National Teaching Schools

National Teaching Schools are outstanding schools that work with others to provide high-quality training and development to new and experienced school staff. Suffolk has nine Teaching School Alliances (TSAs)

  • ConnectED – Lead Schools: County Upper and Barrow Primary;
  • Farlingaye and Kesgrave TSA – Lead Schools : Farlingaye and Kesgrave High;
  • 5 Rivers TSA - Lead School : Bedfield Primary;
  • Mid Suffolk TSA - Lead School : Debenham High;
  • Springfield Junior School TSA – Lead School : Springfield Junior;
  • Suffolk Borders TA – Lead School: Samuel Ward Academy;
  • Suffolk and Norfolk TSA (SANTSA) – Lead School: Gislingham Primary;
  • West Ipswich TSA - Lead Schools : Castle Hill Infant, Highfield Nursery and Thomas Wolsey;
  • Cambridge and Suffolk Schools TSA  (CASSA) – Lead School – Linton Village College in Cambridge including Castle Manor Academy, Thurston Community College, and their primary pyramids.

There are four system leadership roles accredited nationally by the National College for Teaching and Leadership (NCTL), all of which aim to increase the leadership capacity of other schools to help raise standards:

  • National Leaders of Education (NLE) are headteachers of outstanding schools and provide support to schools in challenging circumstances, in addition to leading their own schools.
  • Local Leaders of Education (LLE) are headteachers of good schools who, in addition to leading their own schools, have a coaching and mentoring role with a headteacher whose school is in challenging circumstances.
  • Specialist Leaders of Education (SLE) are experienced middle or senior leaders with a track record of excellent practice, who are interested in supporting leaders in other schools. SLEs can be from any type or phase of school, and have at least one specialism from the four areas of expertise – Leadership and Management, Pupil Achievement, Quality of Teaching, and Behaviour and Safety.
  • National Leaders of Governance (NLG) are experienced chairs of governors who are interested in supporting chairs of governors in other schools.

Other System Leaders

  • Executive Headteachers – headteachers who lead more than one school;
  • Acting Headteachers Opportunities Scheme – interim leadership of Suffolk schools;
  • LA Associate Headteachers – who are headteachers employed by the LA to undertake interim leadership and school improvement work;
  • Outstanding Headteachers - who are leading Academies and the development of Multi
    Academy Trusts;
  • Suffolk Primary Headteachers’ Association (SPHA);
  • Suffolk Association of Secondary Heads (SASH);
  • The Suffolk Governors' Forum.

Lead Standards and Excellence Officers ( LSEOs )

Following on from Suffolk County Council’s Education & Learning Transformation, the new team structure for working with schools is now in place.

The schools in the county are divided into five localities:

  • Central & South Suffolk
  • Coastal & Ipswich North & East
  • Ipswich South & West
  • Lowestoft & Waveney
  • West

Each locality has a Lead Standards and Excellence Officer (LSEO):